Preston North End – Image Skills Test

I took the following pictures of Deepdale, Preston North End’s stadium with the iconic Sir Tom Finney statue outside of it as a test of my image cropping and resizing skills.

100 x 100

My thoughts for this thumbnail, was that because it was so small I had to get as much of the stadium in as possible. The image has to tell a broad a story in a short space and this was the best method I thought of doing that.

200x500

My long crop was relatively straight forward. It seemed obvious to keep the iconic statue within the picture whilst keeping Deepdale’s white spines to remind the audience they’re looking at a historic, yet modern stadium and club. This juxtaposition works nicely I think.

400x300

This crop contains the two sides to Preston’s past. Industrial heritage (using the stadium’s metal girders to symbolise industry) and the beloved Sir Tom Finney statue (displaying their former glories in football – the football museum would also have been a good choice to represent this).

Original Image

My original image was taken with a lot of thought. I wanted to show the audience a fair depiction of Deepdale, without telling them in so many words ‘This is Preston North End’, I wanted to show them that ‘This is Preston North End’. Sir Tom Finney shows Preston’s heritage, the National Football Museum to the left shows the city’s pride in football’s history and the modern structure of the stadium shows it’s a club that has spent money on redevelopment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

You must be logged in to post a comment.
